Ireland will kick begin a full-visit against Afghanistan in India with the first of three Twenty20 Internationals in Dehradun on Thursday, 21 February.


  • Afghanistan v Ireland
  • first T20I
  • Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Dehradun
  • Thursday, 21 February, 6:30pm neighborhood time, 1:00pm GMT

Ireland will come into the arrangement in high spirits after their exciting triumph over the Netherlands in their last installation of the quadrangular arrangement. The guests will depend on the experience of veteran Kevin O’Brien and captain Paul Stirling, their driving run-scorers in the arrangement.

Stuart Thompson, who asserted match-winning figures of 4/18 against the Netherlands, will be the initiate of their pace assault. Commitments from slower bowlers like Simi Singh and George Dockrell will be vital in the turn cordial conditions in India.

Afghanistan have a triumphant record in Dehradun, their embraced home. They were great against Bangladesh in the T20I arrangement a year ago, which they cleared 3-0. Their positive record against Ireland – nine successes in 12 T20Is – will likewise give them certainty.

Afghanistan’s reality class turn bowling stockpile, driven by Rashid Khan, Mohammad Nabi and Mujeeb Ur Rahmann, will get help from the surface. The trio grabbed 14 wickets between them in Dehradun in the arrangement against Bangladesh.

Without the refreshed Mohammad Shahzad, Hazratullah Zazai will be the principle attacker in the batting unit. The hosts will likewise depend on captain Asghar Afghan’s involvement with the willow.

Key players

Rashid Khan: Khan, numero uno on the MRF Tires ICC T20I Player Rankings for bowling, is a bonafide coordinate champ in the briefest organization of the amusement. He asserted eight wickets in three recreations against Bangladesh in Dehradun and was decreed the Player of the Series. He is additionally a convenient alternative with the bat in the lower request.

Kevin O’Brien: With 130 keeps running in three innings, O’Brien was the second most noteworthy run-scorer in the quadrangular arrangement. He gloats of 905 runs and 58 wickets for Ireland in T20I cricket and is No.10 on the MRF Tires ICC T20I Player Rankings for all-rounders.


The climate figure for Dehradun is for inconsistent downpours, which may bring the DLS framework into play. The normal first-innings score at this setting is 146, which demonstrates that it’s anything but a batting heaven. Slower bowlers are probably going to blossom with the surface.


Afghanistan: Asghar Afghan (c), Shafiqullah Shafiq (wk), Hazratullah Zazai, Samiullah Shenwari, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Najibullah Zadran, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Karim Janat, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Zahir Khan, Ziaur Rahman, Sayed Shirzad, Farid Malik, Najeeb Tarakai, Usman Ghani

Ireland: Paul Stirling (c), Stuart Poynter (wk), Stuart Thompson, James Shannon, Andrew Balbirnie, Harry Tector, Kevin O Brien, Simi Singh, George Dockrell, Boyd Rankin, Peter Chase, Shane Getkate, Joshua Little, Andy McBrine, Lorcan Tucker Read more.